Back on course…

So I have just got back from a quick trip to Sydney for my MRI scan. Mum, Ben & I flew from Wagga on Wednesday lunchtime, we checked into our lovely hotel – Novotel in Brighton & went out for a late lunch at a Greek restaurant. I am not too certain who paid for the trip & hotel this time but thank you so very much. The hotel was lovely, in a great spot overlooking the sea – in a very uncertain & stressful time you really do come to appreciate these luxuries and the kindness of others.

We woke on Thursday to a beautiful morning. I had to fast for the MRI so Ben & I went for a walk along the beach instead of breakfast. I decided on this trip to Sydney that I was packing my runners & workout clothes – things I never usually leave home without when we go away (I often forget other stuff but my runners are always first in the case!!). It was so good to be outside in the fresh air by the sea. It was more of a slow shuffle from me, but felt good all the same!!

We got a taxi to St Georges Hospital & made our way to the MRI unit. Thank you for all the lovely messages via Facebook, the blog & my phone that morning – it was very appreciated. Reflecting on a scripture that was sent to me by a few different people, helped MRI go every quickly (Deut 31:6 for those of you who want to know!!).

I had the scan & we went to a local café to have some late breakfast. I placed the CD of the scan I had been given to keep, on the table at the café & said to mum & Ben, “It’s funny to think that this disk holds my future!” I actually felt quite calm about it. The past few days had been a roller coaster of emotions.

While on my 2nd Skinny Latte (my drug of choice!), I rang the Nurse case manager, Helen, to see if I could meet up with her before we left the hospital – I didn’t expect to have any results from the MRI but just wanted to ask a few question about the surgery if this marathon was to get back on track!

I was very surprised to hear that she had just been looking at the MRI & Prof had also had a quick look. The preliminary results (without the official report from radiology), was that they had identified a 6cm ‘something’ that would need to be removed from near my Liver & Pancreas but it had not shown as ‘hot’ on the PET scan – so it’s not cancer, possibly a lymph node or something relating to the appendicitis! Thank you GOD – another prayer answered!!

I met up with Helen on the ward in the hospital & she went into a little more detail – she did stress that the scan would be reviewed formally on Monday at the Peritonectomy Team meeting but it looks like I am still a candidate for the surgery! Words cannot describe this feeling – I have been given back my life line.

The cancer I have is very sneaky, and they want to get in there & get onto it before it can move around anymore than it already may have. Yesterday Helen indicated that I may been booked in for Surgery next Friday 28th Nov, or Monday 1st Dec. This however, is dependent on a bed being available for me after surgery in ICU.

One of the pre-surgery tests I have had is screening for superbugs or ‘Hospital Acquired Infections”. I wasn’t thought to be at risk of having one of these given my age, past health history etc. Unfortunately, I have tested positive for VRE, one of these superbugs! (Yes, another trust me to have it moment!!).

The implications of having this for me in relation to my surgery & hospital care is that I will need to be in isolation nursed in ICU , and the hospital is currently pretty full in ICU with ‘superbug patients’.

I have this afternoon received an unexpected call from Helen the nurse, to say I am booked in for Surgery next Friday – yes one week today!!! The only condition is that there is a bed for me in ICU following surgery. So if you need something specific to pray, send positive thoughts for then it is for a bed to be available for me next Friday!!

It’s very hard to put down in words how the last week has felt. I spent last weekend being grateful for access to this surgery but also very frightened of what to expect & how I was going to get through the surgery. Then on Monday I felt like my lifeline had been taken away – it was no longer certain that I would have surgery. I would have given anything to be on that theatre list. It has been an incredible week in so many good & bad ways. But we have survived the week & the marathon is back on course.

I really can’t begin to thank you all enough for the support, especially in the last week. I never realised that my story would touch so many people. To everyone that has contacted us this week, thank you for your messages, phone calls, emails, blog comments, cards, flowers, prayers & love. I am trying to reply to you all but I know I haven’t quite got there yet! But I have treasured reading them all – it is keeping me going.

I also want to thank our parents. My Mum & Dad have been nothing short of amazing. Mum has been with us physically for every test & hospital visit, asking all the right questions as only a nurse can! And Dad has been holding the fort at home. You already know this but we love you so much, thank you. And Ben’s mum & sister Sophie, thank you for looking after the children this week – they love being at Ning’s place (as they call her) and didn’t really want to come home. I know they will be very happy there when we are in Sydney.

So, tonight I am enjoying a night with just Ben and the kids – it all feels very normal & great!! (Well, actually its 7pm & Ben is still at the sheepyards but that is our normal & I love it!!). We have 4 days at home before Ben & I will fly up to Sydney, and we have some great things planned. Starting tomorrow with a family photo session – thank you to the gorgeous friends that organised this (you know who you are xx). I can’t wait to share the photos with you.

Have a great weekend & enjoy every moment!

Lucy xxx

17 thoughts on “Back on course…

  1. That’s great news about the scan Lucy. I’m following your every word from the other side of the planet. Wish I could give you a hug. Katy’s following too – even though she’s only met you once as an adult she has a lovely memory of meeting you and Ben and the kids at Becky’s that Christmas. That bed will be there for you next week – it has to be!!! Much love Sue xxx

    Like

  2. All our positive thoughts are being sent to the ICU bed allocation person this week Lucy……so glad that you are home now for some “normal” (which we all love!!). All our love to the Prentice and Sanders families. Love the Fraser family. xxx

    Like

  3. Hi Lucy, what a week. Stay strong, you are surrounded by Gods Holy Spirit who loves you more than you can imagine, and of course by your many friends and family. Praying for you daily. Julie xx

    Like

  4. Over 20 years and you look exactly the same! Well wishes and good luck from Becky’s old school friend. You are inspiring people worldwide… X

    Like

  5. wow a roller coaster indeed. Your show of strength is amazing,our positive thoughts are with you all,thinking of you all,Peter and Helen McKirdy

    Like

  6. will be saying prayers for the icu bed all week. I will spread the word so you can have as many voices possible shouting out for this!

    Like

  7. Lucy, I am thinking of you often. It’s been a long time since we were in contact but i credit you with being part of one of my most formative times. I really am sending you lots of good wishes and strength.

    Like

  8. Dear lucy
    I am Emma, Beckys friend from Hong Kong. I know I’ve only met you once when you visited Hong Kong but I just want to let you know that I think of you every day- I’m sure everyone that has some connection with you does. Before reading your blog, Becky gave me regular updates and it is clear you are being incredibly brave and positive through this. I know there have been tears but also many laughs with the help of Verve Cliquot which I’m sure is the perfect drug along with this skinny lattes.

    Becky is ok back in Hk but I know she wishes she was with you and family in oz . Hopefully we are meeting up this morning for a coffee in Stanley whilst our boys play together.

    Lucy my thoughts are with you and you are one very inspirational marathon runner- not the type you were intending on running but my god you are running this one with immense determination and courage . Lots of love xxxxxx

    Like

  9. You will be on top of our prayer list for Riverlife Kids Church tomorrow Lucy! In faith, a bed will be there. God bless. Lots of love. X

    Like

  10. Hi Lucy. Long time since we have chatted – since you left the uk. Mine and my family thoughts are with you and you will be in our thoughts next Friday. I hope all goes well – I will keep checking your blog and get Jebs to do the same. Stay strong and all the best love Dafydd x

    Like

  11. Hi Lucy just wanted to send you our support love and prayers for a bed for you next week, I don’t know you directly and just came across your blog our families know each other and I am sure I have met you once before. I have been supporting a family member through exactly the same rare disease as your going through and meeting the same prof and nurse Helen for the last five years at StG. If we can help in any way by raising money or support we are located at the Paragon Cafe West Wyalong and have long history with your family. We Would love to help you and your family through this time any way we can. Please reach out and let us know what we can do. Again we are thinking of you and reading your story was all too familiar to us. Love and prayers. The Pilon Family xx

    Like

  12. Wishing you all the very best Lucy. Sending so many positive thoughts to you from the other end of the Country! Felicity X (Alastair’s Big Sister)

    Like

  13. HI Lucy – wishing you all the best for your journey ahead. You are in everyone’s thoughts at the moment around Dunkeld. xx Dinah & Brendan Gordon & Family

    Like

  14. Dear Lucy and Ben, Have been praying for you all week. We pray that all will go well for you tomorrow and the many days after. May you know God’s peace at this very difficult time. All our love Rob and Amy.xx

    Like

  15. Hi Lucy. Thinking of you tonight and sending positive thoughts prayers and lots of love for tomorrow, xx. Geri & Marty O’Hare

    Like

Leave a comment